Mid-level Provider Minimize Symptom Syndrome

Kaisu

I now consider myself a mid-level provider. While only on the streets for 3 years, 2 1/2 of them were in a high-volume station where I got 2,500 calls under my belt. I have been running 911/CCT for the last 5 months.

When I was new and enthusiastic, every chest pain was an MI, every shortness of breath was a PE or flash pulmonary edema. A seeker with great dramatic abilities was in excruciating pain. I was pretty harsh with my colleagues for what I perceived were some laissez-faire attitudes.

The long hours and the disadvantaged demographic that I ran in have taken their toll. Although more seasoned and experienced now (usually drugs find their way into the patient as opposed to being squirted across the ambulance) I have caught myself twice on calls with an attitude of less than concern, where the patient was really sick.

The first was an adult syncope with a systolic of 68. It wasn't until I saw that number that I felt any sense of urgency on the call. It was 3am, the guy was a complainer and he was a frequent flyer. I am ashamed of myself. The second was an amputee complaining of extreme pain to his stump. It wasn't until I saw the gentleman's full stash of narcotics (which he avoided because "I don't like how they make me feel") that I took him as something other than a seeker.

Even though I know about Midlevel provider minimization of symptoms syndrome, the intellectual knowledge of it didn't prevent me being susceptible to it. I found a great article about it here:

Minimize

This site has always helped me. I am coming to you again for your assistance. Have you fallen into this trap yourselves? How have you dealt with it?

Thank you in advance for you advice and feedback. I really appreciate it.

edited to try and correct the link

Edited by CrapMagnet