Response Bag

Im new to the EMT thing, Ill be getting certified during the summer. Everyone talks about all the gear there squads give them. But Im on a volunteer squad so we dont get anyhting other than training and clothes. Im luck enough to have an uncle who is a professional firefighter/emt, and he loaned me a green O2 bag to use, and some stuff that he had laying around. My question is:

What are the essential parts for an emt response bag?

I really just want to have enough to do something if i drive upon an accident or something. i realize im not really allowed to use any of it yet, but i am CPR certified and if i can help someone i will.

I currently have:

a shit load of gloves

2 lrg truama dressings

1 BVM adult

1 BVM Ped

2 5x9 abd pads? (not really sure what that is)

18 4x4 gauve pads

16 3x3 gauve pads

1 emt sheers

2 med gauve rolls

1 lrg gauve roll

2 cold packs

3 small triangular bandages

2 med triangular bandages

1 space blanket

some alchol prep pads

and a bunch of these plastic hook looking things that im not really sure what they are.

i think i need to get a small pen light to stick in it.i have looked at complete bags for sale and they have a lot more stuff in them, but what exactly is necesarry. thank you.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Im new to the EMT thing, Ill be getting certified during the summer. Everyone talks about all the gear there squads give them. But Im on a volunteer squad so we dont get anyhting other than training and clothes. Im luck enough to have an uncle who is a professional firefighter/emt, and he loaned me a green O2 bag to use, and some stuff that he had laying around. My question is:

What are the essential parts for an emt response bag?

I really just want to have enough to do something if i drive upon an accident or something. i realize im not really allowed to use any of it yet, but i am CPR certified and if i can help someone i will.

I currently have: