If you are a Paramedic, will you work in an ALS service BLS

johnrsemtp

Confusing topic I know but I will try to make it easier:

I am a paramedic, working for a private ALS Service: today I was asked to come in and help cover shifts, but was told that they didn't have enough ALS stocked trucks so I would to have to work on a BLS level.

Would you do it? During medic school our class followed 2 or 3 lawsuits happening across the country where paramedics did that and were sued because a pt crashed or needed ALS procedures that were not able to be done by the paramedic due to being BLS that day. 2 the patient/family won, 1 the medic won because he was working at a BLS provider part time.

just curious of peoples thoughts on this.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

2 the patient/family won,

Thats very interesting........

Im just curious why they couldn't dredge enough supplies out of the store room for just one day?

My understanding of medical negligence is that in order for the plaintiff to prove negligence they have to be able to prove that the actions/inaction of the provider was the reason the patient died, and NOT their injuries/condition....

Regardless of weather or not the position filled was by a BLS officer or a paramedic, despatach sent a BLS truck anyway - so either way the patient was getting a BLS level of care

From the info you have given, sounds like a pretty dodgy decision on behalf of th beak