"It cant be PEA if the rate is over 150" -- ??

fiznat

I heard this in my medic class the other day. I'm in my 2nd semester now, about 6 months into the class and I've never heard this before. I respect the guy who told our class this, and I'm sure the information comes from somewhere but I just dont understand the reasoning for it.

My understanding of what PEA is: "a rhythm that you would expect to produce a pulse, yet doesnt." ...So why wouldnt tachy (>150) rates also fall under this definition? I figure (depending on the patient of course) that you can expect even really tachy rates to produce some sort of pulse, even if it may be weak. My instructor was saying that if we've got a pulseless patient with a rate of >150 on the monitor, we should go after rate (adenosine/calcium channel blocker/etc) first before attempting to fix the pulseless problem (epi).

Is this really true? It seems backwards to me...

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I heard this in my medic class the other day. I'm in my 2nd semester now, about 6 months into the class and I've never heard this before. I respect the guy who told our class this, and I'm sure the information comes from somewhere but I just dont understand the reasoning for it.

My understanding of what PEA is: "a rhythm that you would expect to produce a pulse, yet doesnt." ...So why wouldnt tachy (>150) rates also fall under this definition? I figure (depending on the patient of course) that you can expect even really tachy rates to produce some sort of pulse, even if it may be weak. My instructor was saying that if we've got a pulseless patient with a rate of >150 on the monitor, we should go after rate (adenosine/calcium channel blocker/etc) first before attempting to fix the pulseless problem (epi).

With tachydysrythmias, it's an issue of ventricular filling time. Without it, cardiac output decreases. Now, you only mention >150. Is this narrow or wide? And how much above 150?