I-85 vs I-99

emtek21

I'm an EMT-B/IV in Colorado, I plan on takin my Intermediate but I don't know how many states still use I-85 over I-99. The only reason I ask about this is I there are a few paramedic programs in different states that I'm looking at and I don't know what level they honor. My next question is which do you think is better?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It is my understanding that EMT I-85 is not much more than a EMT -B with a few more skills and a little more education. Conversely, EMT I-99 is "OMG! I wish I had done a few more months and went to paramedic school!". I can't really confirm this as NC is a non NR state currently, but my opinion is based on information gathered here and other sources. I in no way am trying to discourage you from furthering you education, in fact, I commend it.

If you are considering going the I-99 route, or I-85 for that matter, seriously consider going to medic school instead as long as you have the pre-requisite courses. You be glad you did in the end.

Whatever you decide, good luck with it.

Oh, and welcome to EMT City. :wink:

Welcome to the City.

In Maryland they no longer recognize I 85, and the I 99 is recognized as MD CRT (Cardiac Rescue Technician) They can perform almost all the ALS skills, except for Nasal Intubation, RSI, and a few things they have to call for vs. standing orders..

But as someone else suggested, why not just go full P, and that would give you a lot more options. I'm not 100% but I think VA also does not recognize I 85, but they do rec, I 99 for reciprocity.

Whatever you decide good luck,