Ambulance Driving Certification

Hi,

I just took a Wilderness First Responder class, enjoyed the medical training I received and am considering taking an EMT course this fall. I don't have a car and don't like driving, and do not relish the prospect of driving a 2 ton fully loaded ambulance. To be employed as an EMT do I have to be certified to drive an ambulance? Thanks a lot, you guys rock!

-Stiv

Driving seems like a major part of being an EMT, at least in my system. We don't have stations so we post all over town. Our crews are one basic and one paramedic so the paramedic doesn't drive much, but they are still required to take and pass EVOC, and keep a valid drivers license. You could work in an ER, or at a summer camp, and not have to drive I guess.

I was a very nervous driver at first, but my problem was confidence, I had just gotten okay with my medic skills and I was having to learn to drive a 2-ton ambulance. My problem worked itself out in time, the more I drove, the more confident I became.

Getting down to the root of your problem may help you decide. If you are nervous, then practice will help. If you just don't like it, then maybe you need to ask yourself if you would be willing to endure it while you work. We all have aspects of EMS that we don't like (mine is smelly feet, YUCK!), I guess you have to decide if the pros outweigh the cons.

I don't like driving either! :D I'm glad I work in a company that does not require me to drive an ambulance. I will however, have to drive (perhaps even frequently) at some point in my career as an EMT or Paramedic. I will because it is part of the job I have chosen.