bbbrammer

Interruptions and cold food are a way of life

My vocabulary includes words like cardiac arrest and respiratory failure

The phrase 'code 3' means something to me

The radio keeps me up all night

God only knows what the washing machine has been put through

I am an expert at ironing shirts and polishing boots

I frequently use ten codes without knowing it

I am NOT an EMT, but heaven help me I MARRIED ONE!

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I just can't wait for the day when my significant other finally takes his EMT (he was going to this summer but plans changed) so I quit getting blank stares at some of the more technical lingo. That said, he knows exactly what the radio means and he's very good at polishing boots (bless his heart!)

He also knows that if I say DO NOT touch that pen that I mean it!

Wendy

CO EMT-B

MI EMT-B

Sounds like someone needs to turn the radio off and get out of the trailer park every now and then.

I find that insulting. We don't live in a trailer park, and I was trying to find a funny way to give our significant others some credit for what they go through in dealing with our proffession. Not everyone can deal with our being gone to work for 12-24hrs a day, most of the days of the week. Not to mention what we bring home on our clothes, the flu and head colds we bring home for them, the radio going off and disturbing their sleep, not to mention just the secrets we have to keepp from them just because we can't tell them what we REALLY do in the interest of HIPPA. EMT's have a high divorce rate because it is hard to deal with for alot of people, and I was giving the significant others a bit of respect for sticking around anyway.