EMT-B Questions from a Student

Hello to all. I am considering signing up for an EMT-B class in my area, but have a few questions first. I am actually studying for the ministry, and am currently a junior in a four year college. I have to complete my M.Div before I can think about ministering, and was considering taking the EMT-B class and getting a job, part-time, while I was in seminary. I have always been interested in the field of EMT and have always enjoyed helping people, whether it be physically or spiritually. I believe that 3-5 years of service in the EMS would benefit my calling of ministry, and would add another dimension to my studies. And, I may even go on while I am in the ministry part-time in EMS, who knows. Any help or suggestions from any and all would be greatly appreciated. As I hold down my current job as a inhouse hospital transport, I see EMT's everyday that I work, and I greatly respect your work and calling. Thanks to all in advance for your help! :)

First Welcome to the City!

Congratulation on your decision to follow your calling. I will not go into detail, but I know of many that too that had great intentions to enter the ministry (including myself) and after entering EMS or other health care never did. Of course, there are as many circumstances of why not, versus the number of the people.

I have found man like in my personal history was very sheltered and was not exposed to the elements of human nature, the sociology and deversements of people and the "true world". This may not be your case, but I do believe one entering the ministry this definitely would be extremely helpful and shed light on human behavior. There are so many people that are so unaware of what the true world is like, and how people live their life.