Learning Styles and Questions from a Newbie...

just me

Hello,

I hope I posted this in the right area. I'm an EMT-B student with some questions...

I was wondering if you might have some good advice on study tips for a verbal/visual learner. We are well into our class but I'm at that 'overwhelmed' stage. We are coming up on Spring break and I was hoping to spend the week doing review over everything that we've covered so far. I've made flash cards, recorded myslef doing practicals, and keeping up with my workbook (i love workbooks!). Anyway, I was curious if there were other's who have the same learning style that have some studying techniques that I may not have thought of.

Another question I have is regarding the NREMT. We don't do a lot of 'scenario' practice in class. I've asked my teacher if she knows of any study guides that are scenarios based for the EMT-B student, and she said no. I've found some for nursing students, but not for the EMT-B. Is there such a thing? And I have done some research of the NREMT study guides, there are so many one can feel a tad overwhelmed. Is there one that some of you recommend that is better than another, and follows closely to the NREMT (besides the NREMT practice exams itslef).

Is it normal to feel like you've hit a brick wall half way through the course? I've loved every minute of it, but man it's a lot of information to digest in only a couple of months. Maybe I'm just scaring myself...

-Just Me

Everyone will hit the proverbial wall at some point. Some sooner, some later.

Look for "Case based" study guides. I know that Brady has one for ALS, so I would guess that they have one for BLS also.

As for your learning style, you will know better how to direct your energy than anyone else. Take the information, and manipulate it until you are able to make it yours. If that means writing everything down, do it. If it means reading it into a tape recorder, then listenig to the tape for hours on end, so be it.