Cost of switching to ALS?

Hey guys/gals,

While I was in high school, I took an EMT-B course and worked for my local small-town ambulance service my senior year of high school. I am now in working on my bachelors in nursing and while I was doing that, I took a paramedic course. Unfortunately, it is difficult to find a job in the city I go to school at because I can only work part-time and I am straight out of school in a paramedic saturated area. Thus, I am working with some of the outlying areas to find a job working in an ALS service. The service I worked for in HS was BLS except they used nurses for transfers. Now that I am a paramedic and a couple others that work there are pursuing their paramedic, I am going to talk to the director about upgrading to ALS with eventually a paramedic on call 24/7. I have been working on protocols and other business issues. The one issue where I am falling short is finding out the cost of outfitting some ALS bags. Currently, for nurse transfers, the hospital keeps a drug box that they sign out to the ambulance and then bills for the medications they use. I was thinking we could do a similar situation, but put the meds in an ALS type bag and check out the bag to the paramedic on call.

I was wondering if you guys could come up with a rough estimate that it would cost for a decent ALS bag set up for medications, O2, King tubes (no intubation), IVs, and any other equipment required of an ALS provider. I can draw the minor supplies from our stock, but I am mostly looking into the costs for the major equipment upgrades.

Also, if you guys have anything I could use as justification for upgrading to an ALS system, I would be open to hearing it (My boss is money minded, so things of that nature are better)

Thanks

Michael