Compensation

EMT155

Hey all!!

OK, this is a borderline rant, so you are forewarned. I also wanted to toss this out there for some reactions before I go and throw a patented temper tantrum :)

I have been volunteering for a local BLS first response agency for 17 years now. I am currently the Director of Ops/Recruiting. I preface this so you'll get an idea where i'm coming from. For the past 10 years or so, each year we get a complimentary pass to Lights on the Lake. Mind you, this is the only 'thanks' we actually get as a team. There are no benefits or retirement programs. We are a small 'division' of the county parks system. We don't even get free admission to the parks.

This year, we didn't receive them. I spoke with my boss (our Executive Director of EMS) about it as I had received a number of requests as to when they would be going out. He checked into it and found out that the county has sold the whole program to a local communications group. They *did* give the county a number of comp tickets, all of which went 'downtown' to the politicians. I now have a bunch of pissed off EMT's of whom I can guarantee some won't come back next year. Word spreads around here like wildfire when it comes to things like that, meaning I'm going to have to work even harder to convince people to volunteer.....

I will be going into the office next month to speak with the commissioner and try to get something for our members as a 'thank you' for giving their time. I know it may sond silly to some, but considering what we go through to get the equipment we need and even something as simple as uniforms, a thank you is something I feel my people deserve. I do work hard to take good care of the people who give their time to us, and feel somewhat slighted that they couldn't even bother to let us know ahead of time that we wouldn't be getting them this year.