So lets just say I want to be a doctor

ninjaemtff

Ok, so I'm currently an EMT-B I have been one for two years and I'm in medic school, my senior year of highschool (last year) I had the strong desire to become an ER doctor. However I didn't take the right classes and it wasn't towards the end of the year when I realized that I wanted to be one. So here is my plan, I will finish medic school get the AAS in that, get a job as a paramedic while going back to school to become a pre-hospital rn, and then go on to finish up what I need to, in order to become a dr. Is that a good idea?!?

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't know about the states but I know it will be a possible route to MD in Canada very soon. The programs are coming into place now that will allow students to attain a 4 yr bachelors degree in paramedicine. I don't know anyone who has done it to date but none of the programs have been in place for very long either.

Personally I would choose students with either a nursing or paramedic degree over students with a bachelor of science. Bsc students have a great academic background but they usually lack patient care experience. I'm not saying Bsc students can't develop that, they're just at a disadvantage in that arena.

You need to start laying the academic foundation for the sciences and math classes required for pre-med now. Some of the survey science classes (survey of chemistry and survey of physics) in an AAS and RN school are not going to cut it. Go through the science and math sequencing to otain the higher courses. They will of course still work for the degrees as Paramedic and RN (if that is your prefered route). Both are considered "entry level" and both may not be necessary if MD is your goal. Your bachelors should be geared toward pre-med even if you are also able to work a BSN in there. If you get to that point and realize MD school isn't for you in the future, you can still easily go on to NP or PA.