What should I have done!

emtkat

When I was a newbie emt-b on our ambulance service, I went on a call with one of the Lt. (emt-b as well). While assessing the patient I realized that, what we had believed was just a medical had now turned into a trauma induced by the medical. I promptly told the Lt. of my findings and said that I would go get a back board a c-caller. He said that he didn't think the patient needed it and wanted me to take vitals. But due to the small space we used the back board to remove the patient from the area, but the Lt. didn't want me to strap the patient on to the board saying the stretcher buckles would be fine. while in route the patient became :pukeright: and needed to be placed in the recovery position. This was very difficult to do with out compromising c-spine :? . When we arrived the hospital staff also had a difficult time and asked us why the patient was this way....

Also because the Lt. is higher in rank he chose to do the paper work and screwed everything up! :?

I was new and he was a Lt. so there was no way for me to disagree with him, especially in front of the patient :shock: . And as a result I got written up!!! and will be in my file for awhile. Even though I knew what he was doing was wrong and I voiced my opinion (in a nice way of corse) I still got in trouble!! How could I have avoided this situation?

THANKS,

~EmtKat~

P.S. Hopefully you where all able to understand kinda what I was saying..... I didn't want to say too much due to HIPPA.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

To me, if it's your patient, then Lt. @$#-face can do what you need him to do. If it is his patient, then you allow him do do what he thinks is appropriate. If it is his pt care, than all you can do is voice what you think is right, you can't force anything on him. Most people should respect the fact that if it's your call, it's your responsibility.