Electronic PCR's

Hello everyone. I'm new to EMT City so forgive me if this topic has been discussed. I am part of my employers "team" that is in charge of researching and purchasing electronic charts for both the EMT's and medics to use. I (we) have done much research but I just wanted to get some opinions from those of you who may already be using electronic charting. Are there any reccomendations or warnings against or for any particular systems out there? Thanx in advance for any feedback. -Sam

Okay, I'll be the one to ask. What is PCR? In my world it's polymerase chain reaction, a method in molecular biology to amplify a preselected bit of DNA (genomic or complementary) to study gene expression (like in tumors vs. normal tissue) or for looking for gene mutations...

^

Ha. Common problem with acronyms. I can say the same thing about BP (bipolar/blood pressure). In EMS a PCR is a patient care report.

Ahh. There have been discussions on an expanded scope of practice for EMS, but I did think the polymerase chain reaction was a stretch...

This probably might not help. FDNY EMS uses an E-PCR, or Electronic Prehospital Care Report. It is a scannable paper PCR that we put thru a scanner, correct what the machine thinks it is reading, and transmit the information to our billing agency. Then, the paperwork is physically transported to our storage areas at the HQ building, where the lawyers can subpoena it if needed.

While I personally don't really like the thing, we're on our second vendor's version, as the chiefs have more sway than do I.

We use EMSTAT, I highly recommend it. ( http://www.med-media.com/ems/emstat.shtml )

A friend uses EmsCharts ( www.emscharts.com ) when he does the flight medic thing. He loves it, literally I'm afraid. The whole thing is internet based, no software to install, can write your chart from anywhere, etc etc.