24 Hour Shifts

CCMHmedic

This is a topic that I haven't been able to get a lot of help on, so I thought I'd throw it out here for some advice. I work in a hospital based EMS system. We provide primary 911 ALS response for a pretty good sized city. We also have a BLS unit based at the volunteer fire station in a town about 8 miles away. That is our only rig that works 24 hour shifts. (24 on, 48 off) Herein lies the rub. The crews out there are only paid for 16 hours. The shift starts at 8a and runs until 10p. "Sleep time" is from 10p-6a, then shift time starts again from 6a-8a.

If you get a call during "Sleep time", you are on the clock for the duration of the call. If the call comes between 1a-3a, you get paid for the full 24 hour shift because it interrupts 5 hours of uninterrupted sleep time. How fair is this? Actually, how legal is this? Our feeling is that since you are not permitted to clock out and go home during "Sleep time", and are required to be available for calls, follow the rules and regulations, get into uniform, etc.... you should be paid for the full 24 hour shift.

Does anyone have any ideas as to whether that violates any laws? The Fire station is unmanned, and even though there is a shower, the only kitchen amenities are a refrigerator and microwave.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Some of us are trying to find out if we can file file a claim for back pay.