Late for SCA's in high rises?

Dwight

I'm an AED consultant trying to get a handle on whether EMS can fairly be expected to reach an arrest pt in a high rise, inside the best-before time of 4 minutes.

If not, I see a PAD in the lobby as a way to take some hurry heat off of vehicluar EMS.

What can you tell me of SCA's in towers, etc. ?

I'd say, if it's a high rise, they should have an office-size medical kit and AED on every floor. You have to account for the time it takes 9-1-1 to be called, the time it takes for the call to be taken, transferred and dispatched; and the time it will take EMS to arrive (traffic, weather, call volume). Then the size of the building, is it transferring elevators to reach upper floors, or one straight shot? I'd say every floor, or one every couple floor.s They're fairly inexpensive these days.

An office size medical kit, including oxygen. Many AED companies sell cabinets with said items right in the same spot.

People die everyday, from sudden cardiac arrest. Can't predict when or where they will happen. All you can do is be prepared. "Office Responders" are a good place to start.