What would you do...

tcripp

Ready for another? Based on the post regarding mag sulfate, I thought I'd post another "what would you do?" scenario. For the record, these have been patients of mine. As a new paramedic, I know how and why I chose to treat my patient but I like seeing how and why others choose their course of treatment(s). That is one of the reasons I provide very specific tool box items. This avenue helps me to learn and grow (through experiences of others). I hope it does the same for you.

You are called out for a 55yom, COPD, at a private residence (ground floor apartment). You arrive to find your patient lying in bed, with very shallow respirations. Auscultation does not reveal wheezing and you do hear some semblance of air passing through the lungs, but with very short/shallow breaths. Your first set of vitals are BP 116/73; RR 32; HR 118; SPO2 51%; ETCO2 31. Your patient is alert and talking to you, but is very tired - there is no accessory muscle use. You are 10 min away from the closest facility and you are 1.5 hours away from the closest appropriate facility by ground. History includes COPD and anxiety (PTSD - post traumatic stress disorder) / meds include predinisone, a rescue inhaler and nexium / no known drug allergies.

Items in your tool box include

1. albuterol
  2. ipratropium bromide
  3. xoponex
  4. epi 1:1000
  5. methylprednisolone
  6. magnesium sulfate
  7. lidocaine
  8. BVM
  9. RSI / Intubate

What is your course of treatment and transportation? What would you do?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What was the patient's original reason for calling? His wife said that he was having difficulty breathing.

Were there signs of cyanosis? Yes.

Was the patient on supplemental O2, if so,what was the rate/delivery device? He was on an oxygen concentrator at 2 lpm. The last time he was having difficulty breathing, he pushed it to 5 lpm and then lost consciousness upon arrival to the ED.