good day eh!

PCP

Good evening everybody! Just wanted to introduce myself as I am new to emtcity. I live in Nanaimo British Columbia Canada and I have just recently received my Primary Care Paramedic license. Basically I can start IVs, give certain medications for a pt. experiencing SOB, drug overdose, Anaphylaxis response, chest pain, hypovolemia, and medications to a pt. experiencing a hypoglycemic emergency as well as we run a Not yet Diagnosed protocol which is a combination of checking for low blood sugar or if they have overdosed. I am not sure as to what level of care that would be considered down in the United States? I work for the British Columbia Ambulance service who currently employ about 3400 EMR, Primary Care Paramedics, Advance life support paramedics, ITT medics, and Critical Care Paramedics.

I have been with the service now for just over 2 and half years and loving it! As stated above I just received my PCP license and now I am able to transfer out of my remote station that had about 200 calls per year to a station that I am starting in December that gets about 5000 calls a year! We run three ambulances out of the station one is a full time car, one back up car, and the other one is mainly for transfers from one hospital to another which round trip depending on which hospital we are transfering to is any where from 1 and half to one way to 3 hours one way.

Any ways, I am looking forward to chatting with you all, and hopfully getting to learn some new things, as well as sharing some great stories!

Take care and be safe out there everybody!

Brian Strachan.

• Like 2

Welcome to the City, Brian! :wave:

Lucky you to be living in Nanaimo, BC. Do you have to go to the mainland for the busier station? Good luck with the new job and position. Don't ever stop learning and keep your compassion no matter what. And of course...safety first above all else!!

Hope you enjoy the City and learn and share your experiences. Some good folk on here.