Who is the highest level of care?

Freshmeat

I'm an EMT in AZ, basically stationed in mining town 1/2 way from Phoenix to Vegas. As you can imagine, we fly ALOT of patients that are ALS, as ground transport to the nearest Hospital is about 2hrs. Anyhoo, What I'm wondering is who is the highest level of care on scene, when The chopper lands? Is it still my Medic partner, or the Flight RN??? Not really a turf issue, rather just something we were thinking about since occasionally we reach the scene about the same time :shock:

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Again, it wasnt a turf post. My partner has never been one degree hot over a flight RN calling shots. Never had one single problem with a flight crew, of any kind whatsoever, we all work very well together. Certain situations just made us wonder who actually holds the reins when there is an RN on scene. A couple Medics I work with stated that the RN was never a higher level of care than a medic at an "outside of the hospital" setting. My partner actually believes that the RN is the highest level of care and has defered transport decisions to them in the past (ground/air when we both hit the scene same time and the patient isnt ALS) Much of the time, we try to do what is best for the patient financially on top of the obviouse medical considerations. A helicopter ride in our area is about $18,000.00 and who knows what an Ins co will do. So can anyone tell me definitively???? I really do appreciate the input!

Are both ground and air dispatched by the same service at the same time?