Taking the plunge

nremtp

I am considering taking the plunge and moving to the USA permanently to continue my career over the pond. I am currently training to be a Paramedic with a well known US training company and am due to take my EMT-I exams soon with my Paramedic exams towards the end of the year.

I can obtain a work visa very easily and providing I can get an employer to sponsor me I am almost guaranteed a Visa.

I was considering approaching AMR for a job as I understand them to be one of the biggest EMS providers in the country. However, what are they like to work for? What would the salary be like for a Paramedic? I have 5 years experience as an EMT in the UK so surely this would count for something. Also the terms of my visa mean I am tied to that company for the duration of my visa so surely this would make me an attractive candidate. They can sack me but I can't quit!!! They would have to shell out a few hundred dollars for my visa application but surely a company would consider this an investment especially when they are getting a qualified Paramedic whose training is already self funded and who is guaranteed to work for them for 2 years.

Basically if I quit then I would be deported which is why I want to make sure I am choosing the right company.

Do you think they would go for it?

I wouldn't go to Australia because I don't want to go to any country where the wildlife can eat me!!!!!! Too many spiders and snakes in Aus.

Canada - don't know much aboot Canada, my auntie worked as a nurse in Ontario and loved it but I really want to go to the USA.

I really want to live somewhere like Florida or California. I worked for 6 years as a lifeguard and I love the beach and florida and cali have some great beaches.

I have been offered a job in South Africa as well in both Jo'berg and Cape Town but I really want to work in America. USA is ahead of the rest of the world in EMS and there are more opportunities for career progression than in any other country.