Paramedic Students in the Lab

Should Paramedic Students Rotate through the Lab?  

7 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes
    • No
    • Hell No! Scaramedic is an idiot!

From the "Field lab draws by ALS" thread.

As far as technique and "accurate" blood draws or whatever, I'm in medic school right now and we do clinicals at the same level 2 facility I mentioned above. We do blood draws in the ER all the time as part of IV practice, and the instruction/technique is exactly the same as that performed in the field. I see no reason why EMS blood draws should be treated any differently than an ER blood draw as the technique (and equipment!) is exactly the same. Also, even in the ER I was never taught any specific order to fill the tubes, so I dont know how much that really matters...

Like I said, I'm just a medic student right now but I really dont see any good reason to deny EMS blood draws other than as an attempt to control who gets to charge for the service.

You bring up a point that made me think in a new direction. Should Paramedic students rotate through the lab?

I worked in a lab at a level 1 trauma center for the last 4 years, so I am coming from a Paramedic/Lab Tech perspective.