EMT Job Opening, Why Then A Firefighter Exam?

I got a big eye-opener into how EMS is still the red-headed step-child of Fire this afternoon when I went in for an interview for an EMT position and ended up sitting for a fire fighting tactics exam. I am lucky enough to have some experience in this field and I passed, but what about EMTs and Paramedics with no fire experience? On Saturday I have a physical agility exam, again for an EMT position, that includes hitting a block of wood 130 times with a 10-pound sledgehammer, rolling and unrolling fire hose, opening and closing fire hydrants, donning SCBA and hauling a dummy. As an EMT, I hope I never need to drag anyone anywhere. I'm a good 6'2", 185lbs, I've passed these physical agility exams before, but for fire jobs, not for EMT jobs, what gives? Does anyone else have any experience with this? How standard is it for fire department to require their EMTs (who will never fight fire) to pass fire tactics exams?

1.) when taking these exams, are you sure your job description for the job your applying for doesnt include some sort of fire suppression?

If not, i can only think that they are trying to test for canadates with a more rounded background, and cross trained. Or, they are stupid, and you should run...

ok.. time for a stupid question... Did you apply for a job at the Fire Dept? If so, then they will typically make sure that you can complete any demands that may be asked of you in that line of work.

Or, they are stupid, and you should run...

We have a winner. :thumbleft:

Several potential strains of stupidity come immediately to mind:

• They simply don't have the intelligence to comprehend the inappropriateness of the process.

They don't have the imagination to think of a more appropriate process.

They're too lazy to develop a more appropriate process.

They're setting you up for forced integration in the future.