New to the Forums---a scenario that gave me some problems.

Juilin

Hello,

I am relatively new to EMS and just discovered the forums here a few weeks ago. I've been scrounging around and finally thought it would be good of me to maybe contribute to a little discussion, ask a few questions, or at least make a nuisance of myself.

I would like to give you guys a little scenario and get some input on it. Me and my partner had some problems.

About a month ago we arrived on scene to a 65 year old male ALT LOC. The patient lived alone with hired help that would come and do his laundry, make food, etc. etc. The origin of the call was from his a niece who had been attempting to contact him for some time and were unable to get him to answer his home telephone. Concerned, she called 9-1-1.

Upon entering we find him aimlessly walking around in a soiled (food, urine, stool, whole 9 yards) robe. He would repeat the same routine: walk to the couch, sit, ask one of us to help him stand walk to another location of the house, sit, and once again ask one of us to help him stand. It was almost a ghost like trance. Alert only to name. Appeared to be breathing normally, had an incredible amount of edema about mid thoracic down to the feet which was secondary to what we gathered from the niece to chronic liver failure and being treated with meds and routine hospital visits for drainage. Other than that we were not able to get much information at all other than he was normally much more lucid and appeared to be in a significant amount of pain.

I work in a tiered response system, so I am normally BLS transport for a patient that has already had the Fire Department on scene for some time. I am still trying to work out the first responder "jitters" (for lack of better term) and would like to see how you guys handle this patient as a first on. Many thanks.

Juilin