Anyone know of an amputee paramedic?

OldSCPmedic

I am a retired paramedic who began and ended my career with one leg...a full prosthesis on my right leg and my bad leg which is real by the way :wink: . Initially born with multiple birth defects to include deformities to my upper extremities also, I was "forced" to retire after 20 years. On the side I worked as a police officer and firefighter but EMS was my calling. Over the years I have not given much thought about it per se', but now I often wonder if there are any above the knee amputee medics who started that way or continue to run calls. I am aware of several with below the knee amputations but none above the knee.

Thank anyone in advance. And yes, I ran the street for many years, averaging about 150 calls per month over 20 years of service.

OldSCPmedic

Hey, I used to know a paramedic in Texas with one arm. Lost the other as a kid on the farm. I never partnered with him, but guys who worked with him never complained. Was a smart guy. Not sure how he managed. Never looked into it. But he was never out of a job and was considered a good medic. Moved off to New Orleans sometime in the late 80's, but not sure where he is now. Robin something-or-other.

There is a paramedic that works for University MedFlight(I think that is the name) in Salt Lake City, that had his forearm amputated following a PTO accident on a farm. If I can recall the story he told, he was an paramedic at the time that he lost his arm. Had to relearn how to do the most basic procedures. He now works with the old style clamp/hook on his left arm. Says he invested in a personal laryngoscope so he wouldn't have a problem intubating. :)

This is only how I remember his story, and I could be waaaayyyyyy off.

There is a EMT-B at my Volunteer Station who lost an arm as a child. His full time job is director of communications for the county Emergency Services. I have only run with him a few times, but have always heard he is a good EMT.