Physical demands of college.

I'm currently in my first year of the Emergency Care Technician [ECT (AEMT for Americans I believe)] and I didn't realize the physical demands during PT and such before and after class. Our college (Cape Peninsular University of Technology) has a expedition type thing required for people who wish to do the Rescue elective to participate in. I've chosen to do it as a side option and yesterday was our first official training session for it, my body didn't take it well. xP I've seen on Youtube that the Aussie medic colleges have a fitness routine, but do all medical training centers have fitness focused areas?

Edited by Hawk Eye

I have not heard of it, but I think it's a great idea. EMS is a very physically demanding profession and so it makes sense to begin teaching physical training and wellness early on so that once you hit the field as a provider, the habits have already been formed and you can continue to stay in shape.

• Like 1

• 2 weeks later...

I didin't in my medic class, but in my Basic we had drills, PT, daily uniform inspections etc...

I don't think that it's common here, but I too think that it's a great idea...

I'm currently in my first year of the Emergency Care Technician [ECT (AEMT for Americans I believe)] and I didn't realize the physical demands during PT and such before and after class.

Our college (Cape Peninsular University of Technology) has a expedition type thing required for people who wish to do the Rescue elective to participate in. I've chosen to do it as a side option and yesterday was our first official training session for it, my body didn't take it well. xP

I've seen on Youtube that the Aussie medic colleges have a fitness routine, but do all medical training centers have fitness focused areas?

So how is the PT going?!?