2 weeks out from completing my second semester paramedic. which test do I apply for (AEMT or EMT-I/99)

I love the registry for making stuff so dang difficult. Whats the difference between the two. Im having difficulty finding the scope of practice for both. Can anyone point in the right direction as to which test to apply for and where I can find a printable version of the scope of practice. Also as a side note Im a EMT out of texas so I dont know which EMT they recognize and the states scope.

I find anything with more numbers is the better one to apply for. But seriously, I'm grandfathered in for the state of missouri so I only have to relicensure via CEU's for the state of missouri so I'm not a bit of help here, just paddin my post counts.

But I'm really proud of ya RWT. Keep at it brother. Call me any time.

Edited by Captain Kickass

Yeah I had a talk with my supervisor and he wants me to run vent pt's as a EMT-I 99 or AEMT. However I told him I wont do it unless I get thorough training on the equipment and He adds a exemption in the medical protocols to allow me to have cardiac monitoring/ waveform capnography and the cabability to perform under ACLS and PALS protocols as needed signed by the Medical Director. I wish for many things but I will likely get none. Gotta love private. :clown:

Apply for the AEMT exam. The I-99 level is being phased out and in three recert cycles you will either need to become a paramedic or you will loose your 99 credential and transition to AEMT. The scope of practice is set by your state. The national level has a minimum level that everybody must meet, but states have flexibility in any event.

• Like 2

I'm putzing around with getting my AEMT because for the next 3 months that's countless hours of overtime I can pick up on that the medics won't take. A 3 dollar an hour raise and experience with the skills I've acquired