Greetings

cscboulder11

Guess I should introduce myself. I've been lurking for a month or so and finally decided to register. I'll be taking a EMT course at my college in the fall, so in the meantime, I've been searching about EMS in general.

I'm currently an aeronautical engineering student, but I've always had a big interest in EMS and if I don't pursue it now, I know I'll regret it. Currently, I'm a computer modeler under contract, although it's not a big hobby of mine.

I may not have the slightest clue what you guys are talking about 90% of the time, but I aim to make that change. Should wrap this up though... back to lurking.

Edited by cscboulder11

Welcome.

Don't lurk. If you have questions please ask. That'll help your understanding. Just realize that if you haven't attempted to do some research on your own first we'll be able to tell. We'll then tell you to look it up and come back with what you found.

However, if you've tried to find an answer and couldn't, or still don't understand what you're reading, then please tell us and ask. We're usually pretty happy to help.

Welcome!

As EMT's one of the benefits of EMT City is that we have thee opportunity to converse with providers that are above our scope of practice. Although we cannot arbitrarily increase our scope, the additional knowledge gives us a better understanding of how the systems work and help us be more well rounded providers as well as providing a network of professionals that will help with questions about different agencies around the country and the world.

I congratulate you for endeavoring to become an EMT. The knowledge and skills are very rewarding even if you do not seek a career in EMS. The mobile society that we live in needs that the general public have a working understanding of Basic Emergency Care. You never know when a simple procedure may save a life, possibly your own.