Emt-B Student Clinicals

As a new EMT-B Student, I'm starting my clinicals in a little under a month. What should I expect from the FD ride along and the Hospital setting? Is there anything I should ask or shouldn't ask?

Thank you for your help,

Chris

There is nothing that you shouldn't ask. However, there are things you shouldn't ask in the moment. There's a time and place for everything. Learn when it's appropriate to ask as it's happening and when you need to wait for the ride back to the station to ask.

What components make up your clinical phase of class?

As a new EMT-B Student, I'm starting my clinicals in a little under a month. What should I expect from the FD ride along and the Hospital setting? Is there anything I should ask or shouldn't ask?

Thank you for your help,

Chris

Mike is right about timing. Definitely saving your questions until after patient contact is the best way to go. :D

I am preparing myself for the same thing as well, Just out of curiosity how long is the ride-along/ hospital time for?

This question is best saved for your clinical coordinator. Each program may be different.

But, for you both. I've noticed, lately, some students aren't taking their clinicals and/or ride outs seriously. So, this is just a heads up for you.

1. Understand exactly when and where your clinical is supposed to be and double confirm it. Then, plan to show up at least 10 minutes prior to that start time. Learn now that 10 minutes early = on time and on time = late.
  2. Understand what components are considered a part of your uniform and ensure you have all components with you. Please...this does include a watch, a black pen and, possibly, a stethoscope. You are entering the world of medicine and these are tools you need to do the job.
  3. When you go on your ride out, bring with you some snacks/food AND money. You don't know your crew so the expectation of when and where you will get to eat will not be yours. It will be left up to the crew.