Refusals

(reposted from my question on life under the lights blog)

I have a question for you all about refusals. Let me start with a quick background. I am an EMT at a private EMS agency where we do both transfers and 911. I usually am working with a medic partner. I find that often on refusals, such as when we go to a house to help someone off the floor or similar situations, my partner won't fully assess the patient, and does not do any paperwork on them ("Lift assist only, no info, no signature"). These always make me nervous, because what if the patient does have something wrong with them that we missed by not assessing them, or by not documenting the assessment if we did one. Now as the basic on the truck, I am consoling myself by saying that if the shit hits the fan, it will fall onto my coworker, the medic, but I know that might not be true. Oh, and this isn't just one partner, as I have a different person every day, it is in the culture of the company to not do proper refusals.

Any ideas?

It sucks, but you need to document each and every call regardless of patient contact or not. Even the documentation may not keep you out of trouble in some instances. Example: