ALS in a BLS service?

ksemt

I have a question regarding paramedics providing ALS care in a BLS service.

I'm a new paramedic working in a small rural BLS service. Don't ask why I'm still there - long story plus I'm working to get the service to go ALS, at least ALS assist, but anyway.....

My dilemma - for some reason we carry a few first line ACLS meds (in case a doctor happens to arrive on scene I've been told). My question is; I've been told by our service director that in case of a code blue I can call our hospital and get orders to follow ACLS guidelines - even though we have no written protocols recognizing ACLS.

Am I safe in going above/beyond our protocols with only verbal authorization from our receiving hospital....I been told it's ok by some and a big no-no from others?

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Holy Cow, I would want that decision made by the Kansas Board of EMS or whatever the governing board is.

I was always taught that if you don't have the protocols in place and the ALS licensure then you were bls and bls only.

The doctor on scene changes it all just for the doc though.

Call the state board of EMS on this question.

If your service isn't licensed as an ALS service, you cannot perform any ALS intervention. Otherwise, you're operating without authorization. I wouldn't work for a service that's willing to put you out like that. If things go well, great. But if thing's don't go well, I'm going to guess they'd leave you hanging out to dry.

Shane

NREMT-P

that was the other thing I wanted to say

if you utilized ALS skills even with auth from the hospital you would be operating out of scope of your services licensure so you would be liable if something went wrong.

Heck with this litigious society of ours with people looking to sue anyone and everyone, they get wind of this situation and you performed als on them they'd sue you in a heartbeat.