NEWLY CERTIFIED EMT BASIC!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I just got the news that I passed my state certification for my EMT B licence.

Congratulations! =D> Your state actually issues a "licence" to EMT-Bs?

I didnt take national registary i heard it was very hard.

Not at all, if you know your stuff. But if all you took away from 120 hours was a few "skills," then yeah... you're in trouble. :)

Now that Im an EMT, idk......Is it really a hard job?

Did you seriously not consider asking this question before you invested in the class? :shock:

I havent been in it long enough to know fully what to expect.....can you help me please so im not as scared..lol

I'd be scared about taking any job that I knew nothing about, much less one that is dangerous, stressful, unstable, and barely pays minimum wage. Good luck with that! :D

And don't listen to ITKU2ER. There is no such thing as a "career" as an EMT-B. It's just a job, at best, and only a hobby for most. If you want a career, get into paramedic or nursing school immediately. :wink:

Despite Dust's incessant crankiness and dour attitude :roll: , I would agree that EMT'ing is not a career. Go to nursing school... much less lifting, and very little liability in comparison to paramedic career. It is rewarding in some ways, and when it makes you happy, you can't remember why you would ever want to do anything else. On the other hand, it can sap away what is remaining of your sanity... if you let it. It's an endless balancing act that you will inevitably lose, so go learn something else, and come be a weekend whacker for fun. You won't be respected by "full time" EMS people (sic... whackers)... but hey... at least your life expectancy will be much longer then theirs! :withstupid: