Parents

AMESEMT

I want to say thank you for those who posted awhile ago in a forum about how to deal with the parents who are not supportive of going into the EMS field. I am a full-time college student in accounting/international business and an EMT-B student as well. My mother (and financial support) was not exactly thrilled when I wanted to even take the EMT-B class. I am currently thinking and planning on going to U of I to the Paramedic program, which will mean I am taking 32 weeks off of accounting and internation business degree. I know my mother will not be happy, but I do plan on finishing my degree program when I am finished with the paramedic program. Someone posted that you just need to let them deal with it and do what makes you happy. Has anyone recently encountered this and what did you do?

Finish your other degree first. If thats what makes you happy. Your mother is paying your tuition, use it while you can. You can go places with that degree. If you go into paramedicine, you're not going much further. Unless you do med school or something. Wait till you're done with EMT school to see if you even like it first.

I have an accounting degree myself. I completed it a few years ago. Never pursued my actual certifications as a CMA because I knew a while ago that I had lost interest in that career. But the knowledge is good and snug under my belt.

My decision to go into EMS happened less then a year ago and I'm well on my way (in EMT school now with just a couple months before practicum).

What I know for sure...is that a base knowledge of business will serve you well whatever career you pursue later on. It will make transferring into a non field position in EMS down the road possibly easier. You have a solid foundation of understanding for the hows and whys of what is going on administratively in any service.