Interested in career change/possible part-time - questions!

Jmacot

I am hoping I can get some feedback as to where I should go for paramedic training. I am a 36 yo occupational therapist who loves my job but has always wanted to be a paramedic. I have worked in the medical field for 13 years and am not interested in leaving my job, but since I work part-time now I would love to go through training... but want to know what the chances are of finding a part-time job afterwards. I would even be willing to just volunteer at this point if that is a possibility. Can anyone give me suggestions on where to go for training? I live around Baton Rouge - do I go to LSU, EBR-EMS, or Acadian? Are there other options? Any help is appreciated!

Hmmm... I didn't know that EBR ran their own school.

Obviously, you already have a degree, and you probably have the necessary prerequisites like A&P and Microbiology. If so, then school choice isn't as critical. For those who do not already possess a broad educational foundation including the above courses, I would advise against any school that does not include them and result in at least an associates degree. But if you have those courses, then you have a wider range of courses.