Advice on how to judge ambulance companies in MA

Viper

Hello,

I have my final written exam (for the class) tommorow (Boston University) and it is starting to be the time to decide where I want to work.

I did my ride along time with Professional EMS out of Cambridge, MA (does 911 for them too) (www.proems.com) and liked it a lot. I heard it's full time only, but i like the B/P idea (and also that if its a basic call the basic techs and vice versa). I also liked that they are computerized (including Sirius Sat Radio and the use of pagers), and are mainly a 911 company... The only thing IT SEEMS is that they are full time only (at this point i am a college student and am not sure if I want a career in medicine let alone being an EMT).

But I don't know how to choose them vs all of the other companies that have been coming to our class hiring etc..

I'm also thinking about

Cataldo

EAS Care

Fallon

LifeLine (they are brand new and start in about 1 month however they only do transfers... www.lifelineamb.com)

Regardless, does anyone know anything about these companies in the Boston area... OR can help me know how to make a decision?

Much thanks to all!

--Josh

I use to work for Armstrong, I noticed a lot of people at Lifeline jumped ship and appear to have started Lifeline. I worked at Armstrong from 98-02, left after getting my medic (went to Western Mass). When I left moral was low. Some of those who left Armstrong were blamed for the moral by employees. It could have come from above. I will say I did have a lot of fun working there at times.

I would be cautious of a start up service. It sounds like a lot of money must have been spent to start Lifeline, I would like to know where it came from and how many contracts they have already arranged.

If you had a good time at Pro try them. When it comes down to it all depends on what you make of it. Don't do anything stupid and you can always change companies.

"Viper,"