For Rid and Dust (and any other medic/rn's out there)

fireflymedic

I am curious if you pursued your RN through a transition program or if you did the full course for schools going back through the anatomy, physiology, etc. I am looking at the options available to me for continuing my education, and as I would eventually like to move into a more critical care setting, I feel obtaining my RN would be the next logical step in progression. What I am curious though, is if you felt you got as adequate an education in the accelerated medic to RN programs or if you felt that the full course is of more benefit. I have all the pre-requisites down that are needed, though it has been approx 3 years since I have taken anatomy/phys/english/math/etc. What are your thoughts on this as some input would be appreciated.

Fire_911medic, it's hard to say. I was an EMT-B when I went to nursing school, so I did not have the benefit of paramedic school uner my belt. I know several paramedics who have turned to the dark side. The medics that went through a traditional RN program said they actually learned allot about health care as a whole, and how to appreciate health care from point of injury/illness through the entire health care spectrum. Of course you get a pretty fair amount of nursing care plans, butt cleaning, and the nursing process, not exactly cool guy stuff. However, nursing home patients have an extensive amount of pathophysiology, so it's all what you put into your education. I have a couple of friends who have done a 1 to 1 1/2 year transition program.(net based) You do allot of self study and get limited clinical time. Be careful about net based programs, as allot of them are not NLN accredited. This may cause problems with obtaining a license in other states or working in the military as an officer. I dont know about doing all of the core prereq courses over again. If you are strong in the subjects you should do ok. You may end up doing allot of research, writing allot of