EMT'S AND MVA'S

emtb169

I am an EMT/FF and have been for 18 years....In Jan of this year I was involved in an MVA on the job and may never be able do a job that I love because of a a** hole who was in a hurry to go no where :evil: .Any way the question I have is I have been doing research for devices in the back of the amb (besides seat belts)to hold emts in but still give them the capability to move around and give proper PT care,does anyone know of or heard of anything like that?Any info would be greatly appreciated

First of all...I'm very sorry about your accident. I feel for you, as I don't know what I'd do if I couldn't work anymore, I love my job so much..... :|

Wow....I don't think anything exists like that..but I could be wrong. As for me, I just try to be as safe as possible. I keep my drivers from getting overly excited and speeding, or disobeying the regular traffic laws/rules. In addition, seatbelts always on the way to calls, seatbelts on the way back from the hospital...and as far as during patient care... I try to stay seat-belted as much as possible, and also keep my patient as belted as possible for their protection, as well. However, as we all know, sometimes it's just not possible to do this as much as we should. It really does hinder patient care at times. After I get the general care portion of my run completed, and I'm simply gathering more info or checking on my patient, or calling the hospital...I put the seatbelt back on. It's a pain to put it on and take it off...etc...but I would hate to have to look back on a serious crash and regret that I didn't try to take those few seconds to be safe.

Yes...sometimes I forget too... All we can do is our best. :roll:

Be careful everyone...

xoxoxo