Question re: clinical rotations in Boston hospitals

I'm currently a paramedic student thinking about which hospital to do my clinical rotations at. I live in Boston and have no transportation apart from the subway and bus so that limits my choices. I have been leaning toward doing my time at BMC but have heard mixed things about medic students working in city hospitals -- namely that it's difficult to get your 'points' because there are far too many medical students, interns, etc. and that most of the codes are run by the code team.

Of course everybody's individual experiences will vary and much of one's success depends on how outgoing and helpful one is, but I would be interested in hearing from medics who have done their rotations at any of the Boston city hospitals and had either a great or terrible experience.

Thanks in advance!

Does you program not already have some type of arrangements with the hospitals?

We won't allow students into our ED unless they have a clinical coordinator to answer to. We also had to stop allowing Paramedics students from doing intubations and rotating through L&D due to some serious problems with some medic programs and their students. The Paramedic students can not "run" codes but can be present and the person leading the code might ask them what next.

On the other hand, a teaching hospital is one of the best places to gain knowledge and an insight on patient care. You can also get as many IVs in as you need plus extra. IVs is probably one of skills that some lack when they enter the field. You can participate in rounds and have access to a wide variety of medical professsionals who are use to teaching. You will gain vast knowledge of what happens to a patient once they enter the ED and know what professionals are looking for in way of assessment and information.