Can first responder units start IV locks?

:newb:

I am a EMT/Volunteer fire fighter in rural Kansas. I also am a flight nurse and ER/CCU nurse. For years I have been the only EMT/RN on the fire department. Recently an EMT-I joined our department and soon another EMT will be an RN. One of my firefighting brothers challenged us to find out what it would take to be able to start IV's prior to EMS arrival now that we have three people who could do it. I am concerned about regulations. Are first responder units allowed to carry the supplies needed to start IV locks? If so our next challenge would be to have our medical director approve a policy to allow us to do so. Then we will need to find out if starting IV's in the field is included in the scope of practice for RN's. I have attempted to get an answer regarding IV starts in the field from the state Board of Nursing and had little success. Not many RN's work in the pre-hospital field. Another alternative would be to certified as an EMT I or EMICT. We talked briefly with our medical chief and he incouraged us to research the subject and bring back what we find to him. I am waiting for a call back from an EMS instructor from a local college for suggestions. While searching the web for RN to Paramedic info I ran EMT City and thought you all would have good input on how to get started. What do you think? Is this challenge even possible?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You spoke with the wrong people. You need to speak with the State EMS office. They'll be better able to guide you through the questions you have. You should also follow up with your medical director and see what he thinks about this.