Conerns about a code I worked this morning

KMAC

Im an EMT-B in new jersey. At 430 this morning we got tapped out for a code. Life support (MICU with at least 1 MICRN and usually the paramedic tour chief) arrived about a minute before we did. When we were walking in they were just putting the moniter and pads on the pt. she was completely Asystolic (sp...im tired), she had an internal pacemaker..it shocked her a few times with absolutly no effect. We shocked her 3 times (dont remmember the power settings off hand) and still complete asystoly (yeah..i know..sp). Medics pushed some drugs after finally getting a line in at an ankle site (the POS bone gun didnt work and of the 3 times it was tried). and it took some time for the medic to tube her, both tried a few times, eventually it worked. anyway, the husband thought she was down for about 20-30 min. prior to calling, our responce time was 11 minutes. my question is, why did the medics feel the need to work her for 40 minutes on scene when she was completely flatline for 30 minutes and had no color change on the CO detector? am i missing something? or were we working her just for show? (i wasnt really able to talk to the medics afterwards, they got another job as soon as we dropped her off)

The first question I have to ask is why did they defibrillate asystole? Perhaps there is more to the story than you think? I wonder if the initial rhythm was shockable and perhaps she deteriorated into asystole as the code progressed. As far as working a code for 40 minutes, I cannot comment because I do not know you guidelines or the wishes of your medical director regarding cardiac arrest patients.

Take care,

chbare.