AED's and its use

emt123

In EMT-B class, we are taught to use an AED on breathless, pulseless individuals no matter what. Some paramedics on the other hand seem to rarely use them. What are y'alls protocols regarding AED's, just for insight. I work in healthcare (intensive care), and i was told that only specific rhythms should a Defib machine be used (V-tach and V-fib). Why is it one way or the other? I understand that in the field (EMT) your most likely on your own initially, and that is the best thing you can use along with CPR and Airway management.

emt123,

I believe your question is a matter of symmantics.

You are correct that only patients in pulseless Ventricular Tachycardia and Ventricular Fibrillation should be defibrillated.

However, I believe your confusion is over the function of an Automated External Defibrillator (AED).

When you use an AED it is not your job to interpret the patient's cardiac rhythm. You do not need to know if the patient is in V-Tach or VF (in fact, most AED's won't even show you the rhythm) because the AED interprets the rhythm and determines if the patient should be shocked. Yay for technology.

When told by your EMT-B class that you should "use the AED on all breathless, pulseless individuals" what they meant is that you should APPLY the AED to all of these patients. The AED will then decide whether or not to shock. It will not let you deliver a shock if the patient is not in VF or VT.

So yes, only VF and VT should be shocked, but as an EMT-B or any other member of the public using an AED you do not need to determine if you should shock or not. Apply the AED, follow the instructions on the front of it and all will be well... Except perhaps the dead guy.

Hope that helps a bit.

Later.

emt123,

I believe your question is a matter of symmantics.

You are correct that only patients in pulseless Ventricular Tachycardia and Ventricular Fibrillation should be defibrillated.