Dissapointment

AMESEMT

Tonight I had some free time between studying for tax accounting and going to bed. I decided what a better way to kill some time than to go to emtcity.com to see what is going on. Maybe see some good posts that will make me think or laugh. Tonight, like the past few times I have been here I was sorely mistaken.

I read several posts where someone, usually a long time member of City, would put in their 2 cents worth, which consisted of bashing volly's, Basics, and the poster. Even more so if the poster stated they were a volunteer and posting in the BLS area.

I have got to say....WHAT THE HECK! I am so sick of people bashing volunteers and BLS providers. Granted there are whackers out there that need to get a paid job in EMS, or advance in their education, but has anyone stop to think why are some people volunteers?

I can say, I am a volunteer. Why you may ask? Because of the reason and the choices I have right now. I am currently in my last semester as a college student who is getting his B.S. in Accounting. I was not fortunate enough to find EMS right out of high school or even in high school then go to paramedic school. So I got my EMT-B in the middle of my senior year of college. I thought about not attending the university any more to go and get my paramedic. I was talked out of it (I am glad) since I have $70,000 in loans and a semester left in my education.