? for Paramedics.

I'm looking for some advice before going to Paramedic school ..

I'm currently an EMT basic working for a private 911 ambulance service on a bls unit and have been since sept 06.

I've taken a phlebotomy course and will have psych and a basic arrythmia course prior to the academy start. BUT I cant get into A&P courses prior to the academy start, Will this be my downfall? oh and I dont really like math... Or do they teach it in school?

I'd like to get some opinions from you guys since you've been there done that. I've got my recommedations and app etc, just have to submit it...

any advice is appreciated

-ryan

I'm looking for some advice before going to Paramedic school ..

Good idea to find out what you are in for.

I've taken a phlebotomy course and will have psych and a basic arrythmia course prior to the academy start. BUT I cant get into A&P courses prior to the academy start, Will this be my downfall? oh and I dont really like math... Or do they teach it in school?

The education you've received to this point will help, but A&P is more important than the others. Since you can't get into one beforehand, maybe you could find the book and read up on the material. This isn't going to give you the same experience the full class will, but you will at least be exposed to the information. Math isn't really a requirement, but you will end up doing some fairly simple calculations. If you've had algebra before, you should be okay.

Good luck to you.

Well, I commend your incentive as this is what will guide you along the path to the Dark Side.

When I first started out I found 2 books of great value...yes, I AM a Slow learner, but they worked very well for me.

ps a crappy speller too...lol (edit)

Called The Anatomy COLORING BOOK and PHYSIOLOGY COLORING BOOK, in fact after I showed my instructors they adopted this as recomended reading er (colouring) the canadian spelling...Eh!