EMT-B Pay Scale

I live in California, and I recently got my NREMT, and I have a 2 yr degree in Computer Office. My question is... What is the ave. pay scale for an EMT-B? I am confused. I used to work as a Secretary and it seems I could make more. I want to work in this field to help people but what I am finding now is the pay seems really low. Is this true? I love to help people, and money is not what I am after. At the same time I need to be able to live.

Thanks

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Where abouts in California are you looking at? Starting pay in the OC/LA area ranges anywhere from 7.25 (state set minimum wage) to 11-12 an hour depending on the company and schedule.

In west Texas where cost of living is low compared to most many services start basics around $10 hour, up till 4 years ago probably wasn't even the minimum. All levels in several services worked to get pay above fast food and we're working to go higher for all levels at both services I work with.

I live between the Bay Area, and the Central Valley. The pay range doesn't match the cost of living for the area. I thought EMS would make a little more then fast food. After all EMS workers are very important. Do most companies offer shift differental? It seems by peoples postings the pay may be getting better. Is that true?

Sorry I can't help with California figures, but my info may still help to formulate a national average. Also, Info such as this can be obtained from JEMS a popular EMS publication. In Maine, for the hospital based service I work for, Basics make $7.04 an hour, while only several towns away the EMT basics at a munipal based service make $9.23 an hour. The first thing you should know about EMS wages, is that there are variables. While the $9.23 an hour sounds better, our hospital based basics working for $7.04 an hour take home more. Most of the seasoned EMT's and Medics will support my explanation as to why.