Need Training Ideas

MEDIC_ONE

I am an instructor for a predominately rural EMS service. Agriculture is one of our top industries. I am wanting to do some practicle training, something hands on for experienced EMT's. I know alot of this stuff is just review and recap for the older EMT's, so I need some ideas on how to present some practicle scenarios out on the training ground to keep these older guys interested and maybe enahnce their abilities at the same time. Anyone have any ideas? I am wanting to set up some mock incidents. Thanks

Lucky for you, bein in a rural area you have some outdoors areas to play in. My suggestion would be to find someone's field or lawn with road access, borrow an ambulance, and persuade someone to play victim. At the EMT level most of the work involves moving, lifts and carries. Be sure to include a CPR in transit scenario, remember, compressions on a moving backboard are ineffective. 30 seconds of compressions and ventilations, move for 30 seconds, down, compressions and ventilations, repeat until at the ambulance. Its better than Tae Bo for a work out. if the weather won't cooperate borrow a gym or rec center for an afternoon.

Or you can take Asys's idea and expand on it.

Get the local FD's involved, and do a combo EMS/hazmat training.

You said you work in a rual area, I'm going to assum there are alot of farms and crops out there. Do something Organophosphate related. Full hazmat, with the hot warm and cold zones, decon procedures, treatment policies for a OGP (or OPP as some call it) exposure. Signs, symptoms, etc.