A first aid instructor's conflict with bureaucracy...

Hey all,

If you didn't already know, I'm a PCP student in Ontario, and I've just finished my first year of studies (successfully, I might add!). Since I've had my first aid instructor cert since last year, I'm taking time this summer to teach first aid courses. This is a great way for me to stay sharp on my skills, and also make some money doing it. I love what I do-- It's great to be able to meet all sorts of people and share knowledge, and hopefully give everyday people the skills they need to save a life. That being said, I need some advice...

I work in two cities, for two offices of the same organization. (I can't really say where or which though...) City A is where I started working last year, and has management who is fairly ignorant about how first aid courses actually work. City B is where I have started working recently to get more hours, and their management is knowledgeable and pragmatic. City A's management has gotten angry with me, because I'm not taking the full 8-9 hours per day to teach courses. City B's attitude is: "hey as long as you're teaching the material well, and to standards, then no problem!".

So, my problem is with city A's management... Boss calls me in after finishing up a class, demanding to know why I'm done early. I say "well, because I've become more efficient with experience". Response was "well, the standards say you have to have at least 16 hours of teaching time... As I calculate, you only had 14 hours of teaching time..."

I say, "yes, but much of that is repetition and in my experience, unnecessary. If students understand concepts and are performing well in practical situations, why keep them there and bore them to death?"

Boss' response: "but we're required to give them a certain amount of teaching time-- that's the requirement. If you were done 10 minutes early that might be ok, but you're an hour early each day..."

Argh!