Backboards???

Hi all... First off, I am not a TEMS provider, I just have a question.

The local PD is putting a tactical trailer together. My partner is also an officer and is in charge of all of the first aid/medical response aspects of the trailer. We have been looking around for a backboard to put in the trailer. The main thing that he wants is for it to be quick/easy/simple.The board would be used by the officers who are not trained medical professionals. We do in-service them regularly on some of our more commonly used EMS procedures so they have the basics down. We have considered using a backboard with pins & clip on straps ( we don't want them to have to be digging for the straps) but I thought I would check if any one out there uses something different. If you have any great ideas pleas let me know. Thank you. :lol:

The board would be used by the officers who are not trained medical professionals.

Well, there's your first problem. Backboards (although very convenient as a patient litter device) are used primarily for patients with suspected spinal injuries, which I'm sure you're aware of. Is this really something you want untrained personnel doing?

If the police service is putting the money and resources into stocking for a tactical police trailer, this is an excellent opportunity to pitch to them the need for tactical trained medics.

If that doesn't go over well, instead of acquiring a backboard, look into getting a model 65 ferno 'scoop stretcher'. It's much more versatile and takes up less space then contemporary boards.

peace

If that doesn't go over well, instead of acquiring a backboard, look into getting a model 65 ferno 'scoop stretcher'. It's much more versatile and takes up less space then contemporary boards.

Good recommendation. Another good alternative would be a basket stretcher. Less likely to drop anybody that way. If they need a backboard, they need a medic.