Do EMTs have the right to correct a paramedic?

itku2er

I was just wondering how you all feel about this.....

As an EMT I do you have the right to Tell a Paramedic when they do something wrong or inadequate?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Absolutely!!!

If it is on scene while tending to a pt and it may compromise patient care, do it ASAP, however do it in a non condescending, in your face you screwed up way. This is when it is only minor things. If it is harmful to the pts life, you better speak up loud and clear. For instance if you see a medic getting ready to push the wrong drug or the wrong dose, stop them and ask them why they are doing it. Just be sure you are able to support your actions with facts, so that you are not stopiing the medic everytime he goes to push a drug.

Now about your wording.."do I have the right to TELL them they did something wrong"...

You have the right to bring it to their attention and see why it varies from what you percieved to be correct. See what the person was thinking and why they did something a certain way before you TELL them they were wrong. All of this is acceptable, its all just a matter of how you present it that either makes the medic fly off the handle and belittle you, or humbles him and he thanks you, or you learn a new way of doing something.

Very Good Ak !.. I even inform Doc's even sometimes : "Are you sure ?".. or did you see this ?... Even all of us sometimes will not see the whole picture or not hear something in the history. I don't know how many times I have Doc's, nurses etc.. thank me afterwords... the same I do for them as well. It is a team approach, yes the Medic is the Captain, but this does not mean they are the ruler. If they get upset, because you suggested or informed them something appropriately, they need an attitude adjustment.