left out in the cold

Hey, I'm new here and just wanted to blow off some steam. Well I am a 38 y/o paramedic with 18 yrs experience as an als provider. I am physical and mentally burnt out. I am presently off with the following; T-5 disk protrusion, T6,T7,T8 bulged,,,Hypertrophic degen. with multiple thoracic bone spurs with a lumbar disk gone. I am on LTD an am told that if I am able to work 1 hour a day I am considered to be employable so I get my benefits cut. My employer has no light duties and I am considered a risk now so they would be happy to get rid of me. I started working for $3 an hour in 1989 and have slowly worked my way up to $20 per hour,,,, now I'm done.

I feel like I worked my ass of and literally broke my back to get a slap in the face.

I have a sour taste in my mouth for this job that I once loved. I would instead of waiting for another crew to come to help lift, muscle the patient down the stairs or through the snow banks with my partner. I went through a few partners. I was crazy,, where did it get me. All the people I helped ,especially my employer and for what.

Nobody gives a rats ass about you when your done.

And mentally I am burnt... My body does not produce adrenaline, I drive my truck and something jumps in front of me and I don't even flinch. I am de-sensitized nothing seems to be significant to me. When you are pumped all the time and everything is so life or death and its all up to you then everything thing else is shit. Even family issues don't seem to matter. I don't cry or laugh. I feel like a stone.

Yea this job really messes you up and when you become aware of it your already done for.

Well that felt good , sorry if I rained on someones parade but its the cold hard facts. When peeps say you give your heart and soul to your job they don't know how true it is.

Well thanks for the interest........