Pesky bystanders and stupid people who want to take CPR...

cotjockey

Yesterday was a busy day for our small volunteer service...seven calls in 24 hours...we usually don't get that many in a week. Our first call was a woman who is very well known to us, she was sitting in a restaurant parking lot in a very nice hypoglycemic state. I arrived on scene first, since I was at the restaurant two blocks away. As I approached the scene, I saw an RN who I know rather well trying to talk to the patient. I identified myself (even though she knows who I am) and asked her to step aside. She looked at me like I asked her to get naked or something and stated, "But I am an RN." I sort of rolled my eyes and said, "I know that, but I am a paramedic." She again replied, "But I am an RN" to which I replied, "But I have D50." She again gave me that sort of dazed and confused look and said, "What is the D50 for?" At which point the police officer on scene told her to get out of my way. She watched as we moved the patient to our ambulance, tried to get in as we pulled her coat over her head so we could get to her arms and find a vein, and then stood in the doorway of the ambulance, asking if we had called for an order to give the D50...I told her to move and closed the door.