Big Bucks for Basics

FireResq617

Hello City,

As an operations manager, I have been giving alot of thought to the average starting pay for Basic's. I recently have been given the responsiblity of recruiting EMT-B's and just trying to get an idea on if our starting pay is competitive. Currently, we start basic's at $9.50/hr that includes benefits. It is my understanding that there are many services that do not offer benefits. What do you all think....excellent, average, bad.... are we being competitive?

PLEASE HELP!

NREMT-P/FFII

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's all relative to where you live, but starting EMT's here in the Hartford, CT area start somewhere around $14/hour and medics around $18/hr. I believe EMT pay tops out somewhere in the $16/hour range at the service I work for and medics top out somewhere around $22/hour.

The area you live in is one of the major deciding factors due to cost of living.

Shane

NREMT-P

That is a little high for fresh basics... most places in Oklahoma makes no differential from basics and intermediates... usually, promotion is within time ... etc.. I know of some flight Paramedics making a little more than that. Of course that depends .. are you paying for 24 hr shift plus guaranteed O.T. on top or 16 hr shift with O.T. on call, salaried contract ?.. etc.. .. again, dependent on how the service pays.

Personally , I look hours and average yearly salary when I apply. There are way too many variables, quoting an hourly salary.

There are very few that I know of that does not offer some type of benefit package for the medics, although they definitely are desirable. We just did a search and I believe we pay one of the highest if not the highest in the state. We are reviewing our benefit package as well.